top of page

An Explosion of Colours, Music and Diversity

Updated: Mar 21, 2019

It’s taken me some time to decide how to write this article – do I go with elaborately describing every single detail? Like my unsuccessful quest to find a rainbow t-shirt in Primark (the first time they’ve failed me in nine years) and my realisation that I didn’t have six fingernails when I tried to paint them the colours of the Pride flag? Or do I skip the preparation process entirely and get to the meat of the article? I assume that would be my experience of Hampshire Pride as a straight, ‘Pride virgin’ (trademark Queer Talk co-producer Charlotte Eccles) – but what experiences specifically? To adhere to all my anxieties, I’ve decided to give you a brief snippet of the entire experience.


Hampshire Pride was an explosion of colours, music and diversity; from ‘Christians at Pride’ to drag queens. Whilst I admittedly felt a little out of place at times, the event was extremely inclusive and the University of Winchester’s LGBTQ+ society Spectrum made me feel very welcome. I’d definitely recommend going with a group – university related or not – if you were at all nervous about going by yourself. I had felt slightly overdressed in my bright pink coat, pastel striped t-shirt, rainbow bow and matching make-up, but when I rounded the corner of the Reception building to see the literal colours of the spectrum I was instantly put at ease.


On the walk over to the Great Hall, a voice from behind me announced that we had to shout ‘Move, I’m gay’ if anyone got in the way – for the Vine and the bants. I was also asked my preferred pronoun when we went to Pizza Express (15% off if you had rainbow accessories, which we definitely did). This confused me slightly before someone I assumed was a ‘she’ told me they preferred ‘they’, and I realised that not all gender identities are as physically obvious as others; well done me.


The parade itself was my favourite part – although spending too much money at the market stalls, pizza, and swaying awkwardly to the music are close seconds. That’s no discredit to the performers – both the Busking Society and the Solent Gay Men’s Chorus were incredible – I just can’t dance to save my life.


It was a gorgeous sunny day and marching through town, led by a fire truck and a marching band (MCR fans wua), celebrating LGBTQ+ rights as Green Day’s ‘Holiday’ blasted in the background was a perfect way to spend it. We walked for nearly an hour, from the Great Hall to the King Alfred statue and then back up to the Hampshire County Council building, where the main indoor market was held. After Hampshire Pride chair and festival director Sarah-Louise Collins's empowering speech - on how she never thought when she first came out at 16 over 25 years ago, that one day she’d be standing here with so many LGBTQ+ people and supporters - we were let loose inside the market.


The indoor market was full of a variety of stalls from local and national businesses, such as the Scouts, the Hampshire Fire and Rescue Service, and the Hampshire Constabulary. Despite getting freebies from said stalls, my favourite stall in the market was the one run by (I think) young volunteers from Hampshire. For a small donation, you could pick and make – make – your own badge, and so I got to create my very own LGBTQ+ ally badge.


We didn’t spend that long in the market as I think everyone was getting quite peckish at that point, but whilst waiting for everyone to congregate to go to Pizza Express, I saw part of the drag show. I couldn’t see much from where we were standing, but going by the music (‘Born This Way’, ‘This Is Me’ and similar hits), the odd flick of a brightly coloured wig and the following rapturous applause, I assume it was a very good performance.



A few days after the event, I came across a rather angry tweet that said: “who [the fuck] started saying "pride is for everyone!!" no it's fucking not it's for LGBTQ+ people”. Whilst I personally believe that Pride should be for anyone who is in support of the LGBTQ+ community (and the majority of tweeters in the comments agreed with me), I couldn’t stop this niggling doubt – should I have been there? As, whilst I am an ally, and was showing my support to those who have, essentially, faced difficulty over being who they are, having never experienced this to the same extent myself, was I actually being more disrespectful than if I hadn’t gone at all?


I recently read an article that described ‘straight allies at pride as guests in the LGBTQ+ community’s house’, and whilst Lee (my co-presenter) assured me that this, and the above tweet, was a load of nonsense and more about London Pride, I agree with the point the article was trying to make; despite the slightly dodgy analogy.


Whilst I am the first to admit that I am not the most informed on LGBTQ+ issues, I think Pride should be for anyone and everyone who wants to support the community. But not those who want to “fill [their] social media with artistic rainbow-themed photos and essays about the beauty of ‘diversity’ and ‘equality’ without ever actually writing the word ‘gay’” or homophobes who want a reason to get drunk: whilst Pride is ultimately a celebration, it is not an excuse for a party.


Everyone at Pride (and in life in general - although perhaps that’s a bit too deep for the summary paragraph) should be respectful to one another; regardless if they’re a member of the community or an ally. Pride allowed me to meet a variety of people that I never would have done at home watching Netflix and further helped me to gain a greater understanding of the community. So, if you’re a respectful human being who supports LGBTQ+ rights, go to Pride.


For more information on how to become an ally or what this term means, please see our glossary and visit Stonewall; an LGBT rights charity that campaigns for equality across Britain.

34 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Just a Small Village Girl

Hi – I’m Jess, the non-Queer half of the presenting duo for Queer Talk (or the 'ally' presenter to save us all some breath). If you don’t...

Comments


bottom of page